Vanilla Saffron Cookies

I generally have a get together with a small group of friends at my apartment once a week. I invite them over for dinner, for a movie, to just hang out, or in the case of this week, for dessert.

I finally bought some of the kitchen supplies I needed to start baking and I wanted to celebrate. I have been here for over two months talking about my job in the bakery back home I wanted to prove to them what I was saying. I wanted to demonstrate that I wasn’t just all talk.

I looked through my recipes, both in books and online, for something simple, but delicious. I didn’t have much time to bake, and I don’t have many supplies. I found a recipe for Vanilla Peanut Butter Chip Cookies and switched around the ingredients based on what I like and what is actually available here.

As you all know from my last post, it seems to be difficult to find what you need if you have a specific idea.  If I were to try to find peanut butter chips, it would probably be fastest to just book a flight home, go to Shaw’s, and bring them back here. And even if I just needed peanut butter, it might take a few hours of searching and a full pocket of coins.

Another recipe that interested me was one for Vanilla Saffron Snickerdoodles. I knew I wanted vanilla and saffron, as that combination intrigued me, but I didn’t want to loose the chips. There’s something satisfying about having chips in a cookie. So I went for a more neutral white chocolate chip.

I was hoping to post photos, but the cookies did not last long enough to get out my camera. So here is my successful recipe for:

Vanilla Saffron Cookies with White Chocolate Chips

Adapted slightly from Averie Cooks

Makes about 2 dozen small-to-medium sized cookies (I made 22 cookies)

1/2 cup Crisco (or vegetable shortening) – I used butter (shortening makes the cookies puff up more, butter makes it richer)

1/2 cup white sugar

1/4 cup light brown sugar, packed

1 large egg

1 tablespoon water

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1/8 teaspoon ground saffron threads

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 cup white chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375F and line two cookie sheets with Silpat liners, parchment paper, or spray with cooking spray. In a large mixing bowl, beat together Crisco (or butter) , sugars, egg, water, and vanilla, until batter is creamy. Add the saffron, salt, baking soda, flour and mix until just combined. Fold in white chocolate chips by hand. Cover and refrigerate dough for 30 minutes. Do not skip chilling the dough if you want puffy cookies because cold dough results in puffier cookies.

Using a cookie scoop, form 1 inch balls (or roll balls by hand) and place on prepared cookie sheets, allowing for adequate spacing (these cookies do not spread much, but like all cookies, they spread some; and the colder the dough, the less they will spread). Bake for 8-10 minutes or until barely brown. Remove cookies from oven when they look slightly under-baked and allow cookies to cool and firm up on cookie sheets for at least 5 minutes before moving to cooling racks. Store cookies in an airtight container on the countertop or freeze for up to 3 months.

One thought on “Vanilla Saffron Cookies

  1. This is so ironic that you used my recipe to make your cookies, that you also adapted from Heidi’s cookies (who used the Blue Bottle Cookbook recipe).

    I just made a hybrid cookie from my own Puffy Vanilla Cookie and the Blue Bottle recipe and am posting it this week! Wow – the interesting twist of cookie fate going on here :)

    Anyway, glad you like my recipe and your results sound amazing!

Leave a Reply

